Financial Aid

SCC Home » Student Services » Financial Aid » Scholarships » Scholarship Foundation

Solano College Scholarship Foundation


Download the Application

Scholarship Criteria

Full-time students who have completed 24 units of graded units at Solano Community College and have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher are eligible to apply for scholarships. Most of the scholarships require the student to be either continuing as a full-time student at Solano or transferring to a four-year college in the fall. There are a few exceptions to the full-time enrollment requirement. The following scholarships permit applications from part-time students:

  1. Students enrolled in vocational majors
  2. Dr. Marge Blaha Memorial Scholarship
  3. Robert T. Ford Science Scholarship
  4. Diane Muir Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship Application

Students who meet the scholarship criteria are eligible to apply for scholarships. Applications are now available for the fall 2010 awards. This single application is used for determining eligibility for both General and Special/Memorial Scholarships.

Download the application now!

Information about the Scholarship Foundation

The Scholarship Foundation

The Solano College Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit corporation that awards scholarships to Solano College students on the basis of academic achievement and demonstrated potential for excellence. The Foundation is administrated by a Board of Directors providing representation from the communities of Solano County.

The goal of the Foundation is the promotion of scholastic excellence by providing a program that will identify, recognize and reward outstanding scholars attending Solano College. Beginning with the three scholarships that were presented in 1974, the program has grown significantly. Scholarships are presented at an annual fall Awards Ceremony held at the end of September or early October. In 2008, awards totaling over $25, 000 were presented to seventy four students.

The Scholarship Foundation administers the following two programs:

  1. The General Scholastic Achievement Program

    The primary criterion for General Scholarship awards is scholastic excellence. General Scholarships are reserved for full-time students who have completed 24 units of graded units at Solano Community College and have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher.
  2. The Memorial and Special Endowment Programs

    With the first memorial program starting in 1975, there are currently 58 programs established to honor and commemorate specific individuals or purposes. Most special programs have designated majors and/or other specific qualifying requirements that determine eligibility for consideration.

    Memorial/Special Scholarships are awarded with a minimum endowment fund balance of $3000. Because the scholarships are funded by the interest earned on endowments, the amount of the annual scholarship varies with the market.

The Memorial and Special Endowments Scholarships

  • Academic Senate Distinguished Scholar Award
  • ASSC Academic Scholarship
  • ASSC Leadership Scholarship
  • Chloe Beavers Tribute (Cosmetology)
  • Dr. Marge Blaha Memorial (Re-entry, female, transfer major)
  • California Teachers Association Scholarship (Education, interest in teaching)
  • Jean Chapman Scholarship (Science )
  • Naomi "Chris" Christensen Memorial (Music)
  • Joe Clevenger Tribute Scholarship (Business Administration)
  • James "Jim" Cooper Memorial (Business)
  • John and Carol DeKloe Biotechnology Scholarship
  • Ray O. Duey Memorial (Registered Nursing)
  • Eddie Edwards Memorial (Re-entry)
  • Fairfield-Suisun Twilight Rotary Club (Business or related major)
  • Jane H. Ford Memorial (English)
  • Robert D. Ford Memorial (Science)
  • Nick Gentile Memorial (Business)
  • Gilbert Memorial (Re-entry, history)
  • Rachel Goodwin Memorial
  • Chuck Gray Memorial (Photography)
  • Harry Gray Memorial (History or Political Science)
  • Phillip Moses Gray Memorial (Re-entry, male, Human Services)
  • Dr. Carolyn Anne Green Memorial (Registered Nursing)
  • Richard E. Green Nursing Award
  • Peggy Gross Memorial (Wildlife interests, Audubon Society)
  • Bob Hamilton Memorial (Science)
  • Ralph Hanson Memorial (Language Arts)
  • Buelah Hawkins Memorial (Re-entry, female, essay required)
  • James “Doc” Hollister Memorial
  • Hosley Family Scholarship (Academic Excellence/Transfer)
  • Margaret Lee Jenkins Memorial (Cosmetology)
  • Math and Science Instructors’ Scholarship
  • Carmen Camille Cook Johnson Memorial (Re-entry, ECE, Social Science, Education)
  • Kirkorian Family Memorial (Education)
  • Phuong Le Memorial Scholarship for Nursing
  • Clyde Low Scholarship (History, Library Science)
  • William Michaels Memorial (History or Vocational Education)
  • Jim Mills Scholarship (Biotechnology)
  • Martin Mini Memorial
  • Diana Muir Memorial (Re-entry, English)
  • Mary C. and Henry A. Ornellas Memorial (Fashion Design, Music, or Cinematography)
  • Dr. Delphine Palm Memorial (Biological Science or Medical Field)
  • Robert (Bob) Pokorny Memorial (Education)
  • Henry Power Memorial (Aeronautics)
  • Dr. Sally Ralph Memorial (Psychology/Counseling)
  • Clarence Rose Memorial (Computer Science, Math, Engineering)
  • Steve Ryder Memorial (Nature Appreciation)
  • SCC Cosmetology Scholarship
  • Art and Myrna Satterlie Scholarship (Math, Engineering, Science)
  • Bob Scott Mathematics Scholarship
  • Don Seigel Journalism/English Scholarship (Journalism major or Tempest staff member)
  • Sierra Club Scholarship, Solano Group (Environmental Concerns)
  • Solano District Scout House Scholarship (Eagle Scout)
  • Alvin E. and Jeanne E Soliday Scholarship (Environmental Science)
  • Dennis Stevens Memorial
  • Taylor Memorial (Re-entry)
  • Dr. Jane M. Thompson Memorial (Business or Computer Science)
  • Mac Tilley Memorial (Electronics)
  • Malcolm Henry Tipp Memorial Scholarship (Business, Computer Science)
  • Charlotte Waggy Memorial
  • Lawrence "Jack" Wheeler Memorial (Counseling)
  • Bill and Jean Wilson Memorial (Leadership/Service, Athletics)
  • Morgan "Porky" Wood Memorial (Athletics)

Solano College Scholarship Foundation Membership

2010-2011 Board of Directors

  • David Balmer
  • Carliza Bataller
  • David Brannen
  • Leslie D’Errico
  • Dean Eaton
  • Laurie Gorman
  • Lorraine Gray
  • Richard Green
  • Dorothy Hawkes
  • Lillian Nelson
  • Elaine Norinsky
  • Diana Plant
  • Belinda Silva/Attianese
  • Joe Trigueiro

Donations may be sent to:

Solano College Scholarship Foundation
P.O. Box 2208
Fairfield, CA 94533

For any inquiry and further information, please contact:

Dorothy Hawkes
(707) 425-4590